Governance of the GSC

The GSC is run by two entities, the Facilities Manager and the GSC Governace Board (GSCGB). The Facilties Manager is responsible for day-to-day management of the GSC, while the GSCGB enacts usage policies of the GSC. The GSCGB is composed primarily of graduate students --- there are at least seven voting positions for graduate students (including the Chair and Vice-Chair). There are also voting positions for staff, faculty, and undergraduates (one position each), to ensure that the GSCGB takes the entire campus into consideration when making decisions. If you are interested in serving on the GSCGB, please contact the Graduate Commons on our contact page.
Graduate Student Commons, Governance Board
President: Aaron Springer
Vice President: Daniel Alves
Treasurer: Andrew Barber
Programming Coordinator: Patrawat Samermit
Building Manager: Rachel Neuman
Graduate Intern: Suraiya Jetha

GSC Governance Board Members 2017-18

If you are interested in becoming a member or are a represenative from appointed to sit on the GSCGB for a vacant position please contact the president from our contact page.

  • Aaron Springer, President
  • Daniel Alves, Vice President
  • Andrew Barber, Treasurer
  • Patrawat Samermit, Programming Coordinator

Graduate Representatives

  • Arts - Vacant
  • Humanities - Vacant
  • Engineering - Avirudh Kaushik, Thomas Ng
  • Physical and Biological Sciences - Vacant
  • Social Sciences - Giselle Laiduc, Alexandra Race, Julia Soares

Governance Board Voting Members

  • Daniel Alves, Andrew Barber, Patrawat Samermit, Giselle Laiduc, Alexandra Race, Julia Soares, Avirudh Kaushik

Undergraduate, Faculty, and Staff Representatives

  • Currently Vacant, Intercollegiate Council on Student Appointments representative
  • Currently Vacant, Academic Senate representative
  • Currently Vacant, Staff Advisory Board representative

Non-Voting Members

  • Rachel Neuman, GSC Business/Building Manager
  • Kathryn Tobisch, Alumni Association representative
  • Tyrus Miller, Dean of Graduate Studies
  • John Bilanko, Current Tenant
  • Fiona Weigant, SAB
  • Bob McCampbell, Quarry Plaza Council
  • Marlene Tromp, EVC
  • Suraiya Jetha, GSC Intern

Ad Hoc Subcommittee Members:

  • Finance Committee - Andrew Barber (chair,, Rachel Neuman
  • Programs Committee - Patrawat Samermit (chair,, Andrew Barber, Daniel Alves, Rachel Neuman, Suraiya Jetha
  • Outreach Committee - Daniel Alves (chair,, Aaron Springer, Giselle Laiduc, Rachel Neuman, Suraiya Jetha

and...YOU! Join the Grad Commons! E-mail us from our contact page to learn how you can become involved.